Les obus de Chérisy

Documentary

2015

/en/medias/projets/lesobusdecherisy/documentaire/249.jpg
/en/medias/projets/lesobusdecherisy/documentaire/263.jpg
/en/medias/projets/lesobusdecherisy/documentaire/4.jpg

Les obus de Chérisy is a film that plunges us into the midst of a battle in which blood was shed for every inch of terrain won. The battle of Chérisy, in Pas-de-Calais, France, almost decimated the 22nd regiment, largely composed of soldiers from Quebec.

In the words of military historian Carl Pépin, it was the worst defeat since that of the Plains of Abraham. A defeat we did all we could to forget, when it should have served as a reminder of the fallen soldiers’ courage and bravery for generations to come.

We will take one of the Chérisy heroes’ sons back to the battlefield. We will visit the cemetery where most of the victims of this carnage were laid to rest. We will discover the spots where they took cover when the bombs rained down on them. We will explore the underground city in Arras, where our troops sought refuge before launching their assault. We follow the bomb disposal squads who risk their lives to destroy live bombs scattered across the site of the battlefield.

This film seeks bring a long forgotten battle back to life in order to redress injustice.


Format(s)

1 X 60 minutes

Broadcaster(s)

RDI

Director(s)

Robert Tremblay

Les obus de Chérisy

Documentaire

2015

/fr/medias/projets/lesobusdecherisy/documentaire/249.jpg
/fr/medias/projets/lesobusdecherisy/documentaire/263.jpg
/fr/medias/projets/lesobusdecherisy/documentaire/4.jpg

Les obus de Chérisy est un film qui nous plonge au cœur d’une bataille, où chaque pouce de terrain a été gagné au prix du sang. La bataille de Chérisy, dans le Pas-de-Calais, en France, a presque décimé le 22e régiment, composé en grande majorité de combattants québécois.

Ce fut la pire défaite depuis celle des plaines d’Abraham, dira l’historien militaire Carl Pépin. Une défaite qu’on a tout fait pour oublier, alors qu’elle aurait dû rappeler aux générations qui allaient suivre la valeur et la bravoure de ceux qui sont tombés.

Nous ramenons sur le champ de bataille le fils d’un des héros de Chérisy. Nous découvrons le cimetière où reposent la plupart des victimes de ce carnage. Nous prenons position sur les saillies du terrain où ils se sont mis à couvert alors que pleuvaient autour d’eux les bombes. Nous explorons les souterrains de la ville d’Arras, où nos troupes se sont réfugiées avant de se lancer à l’assaut. Nous suivons les démineurs d’aujourd’hui qui, au péril de leur vie, sont chargés de la destruction des bombes toujours actives qui pullulent sur les lieux du champ de bataille.

Nous redonnons vie à cette bataille oubliée depuis longtemps. Une injustice que ce film va corriger.


Format(s)

1 X 60 minutes

Diffuseur(s)

ICI Radio-Canada

Réalisateur(s)

Robert Tremblay