Chartrand - Le malcommode

Documentary

2010

/en/medias/projets/chartrand-le-malcommode/documentaire/IMG_1.jpg
/en/medias/projets/chartrand-le-malcommode/documentaire/IMG_2.jpg
/en/medias/projets/chartrand-le-malcommode/documentaire/IMG_3.jpg

Chartrand - Le malcommode is a biography of the unionist Michel Chartrand. It is the story of a man who made a life-long vow to defend social justice and to make this cause one of our society’s main priorities. Chartrand - Le malcommode will trace the life of this political figure, giving an account of his considerable influence on people coming from different backgrounds such as Gilles Vigneault, Luc Picard, Francine Lalonde or Françoise David.

Chartrand - Le malcommode also tells a story a fight for freedom of expression. The words justice and indignation are at the heart of Chartrand’s life. Injustice made him angry, and this anger made him speak out. The cynicism and the demagogy of the bosses inspired him to use his oratorical qualities in public speeches, which ensured his popular success.

Finally, Chartrand - Le malcommode is the point of view of an author who wonders what remains today of labour movements and forgotten stakes. The film-maker asks what has become of left-wing politics, with its truncheon blows, massive meetings, and loudmouth chiefs.Is it that the claims of the past were so well heard that they are now groundless or is it that the revolutionaries have lost the battle? And after all those struggles, all those fights, what was it actually worth it?


Format(s)

1 X 90 minutes, 2 X 45 minutes

Broadcaster(s)

Télé-Québec, RDI

Director(s)

Manuel Foglia


Distributor(s)

Ciné-Fête

Emission(s)

Chartrand - Le Malcommode



Awards

2012

Nomination

Chartrand - Le malcommode

Documentaire

2010

/fr/medias/projets/chartrand-le-malcommode/documentaire/IMG_1.jpg
/fr/medias/projets/chartrand-le-malcommode/documentaire/IMG_2.jpg
/fr/medias/projets/chartrand-le-malcommode/documentaire/IMG_3.jpg

CHARTRAND, LE MALCOMMODE, c’est une biographie du syndicaliste Michel Chartrand. C’est l’histoire d’un homme qui a fait le vœu d’une vie : défendre la justice sociale et porter cette cause à l’agenda des priorités de notre société. Tout en traçant le portrait de Chartrand, CHARTRAND, LE MALCOMMODE rendra compte de son influence considérable sur des gens venus d'horizons aussi différents que Gilles Vigneault, Luc Picard, Francine Lalonde ou Françoise David.

CHARTRAND, LE MALCOMMODE, c’est aussi l’histoire d’amour d’un peuple avec la liberté d’expression. Au cœur de la vie de Chartrand, il y a les mots justice et indignation. L’injustice lui a donné la colère, et la colère lui a donné la parole. Le cynisme et la démagogie des boss lui inspirèrent les qualités oratoires de ses discours publics et lui assurèrent son succès populaire.

CHARTRAND, LE MALCOMMODE, c’est enfin une vision d’auteur, qui s’interroge sur ce qu’il reste aujourd’hui des mouvements ouvriers et des enjeux oubliés. C’est un réalisateur qui cherche à savoir ce qui reste de la gauche, des coups de matraques, des assemblées monstres et des coups de gueules des chefs malcommodes? Serait-ce que les revendications d’autrefois ont été si bien entendues qu’elles n’ont plus lieu d’être ou est-ce que les révolutionnaires ont perdu la bataille? Et toutes ces luttes, tous ces combats, c’était pour quoi faire au juste?

 


Format(s)

1 X 90 minutes, 2 X 45 minutes

Diffuseur(s)

Télé-Québec, RDI

Réalisateur(s)

Manuel Foglia


Distributeur(s)

Ciné-Fête

Émission(s)

Chartrand - Le Malcommode,



Prix et distinctions

2012

Nomination